Jean Champeil
France, °1910
Jean Champeil studied the violin with Jules Boucherit, Marcel Chailley and Georges Enesco. Holder of prizes of the Nadaud and Ysaÿe competitions, he played in the Lamoureux Orchestra and at the opera. He was part of the Calvet Quartet and, following its dissolution in 1950, founded a quartet that beared his name, taking with him Maurice Husson. The Champeil Quartet was composed of himself, Georges Balbon, Maurice Husson and Manuel Recassens.
Relive the performances of Violin 2024
H.M. Queen Mathilde
Follow us on Instagram
This site uses cookies to provide you with the best experience possible.
By clicking on « ACCEPT » or continuing to browse the site, you accept the use of cookies on your web browser. For more information about our cookie policy and the different types of cookies used, click on Learn more