Sangyoung Kim
Korea, °1984
PIANO 2013 : Laureate
Sangyoung Kim started her training at the Korea National University of Arts and studied further at the New England Conservatory in Boston under Russell Sherman and Wha Kyung Byun. She has appeared in recital in the United States, in Canada, in a number of European cities (e.g., at the Festival de Courchevel and at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki), in Israel (at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art), and in Korea. She has also performed as a soloist with the Phoenix Symphony Orchestra, the Concord Orchestra, and the Seoul Symphony Orchestra. A laureate of numerous national and international competitions, her awards have included the 1st Prize in the USASU Bösendorfer, Arizona (2008), and Heida Hermanns (Westport, Connecticut, 2006) competitions.


Wha-Kyung Byun (2002-present)
Russell Sherman (2002-present)
Kyung Sook Lee (1995-2002)


New England Conservatory of Music, Boston, MA, USA
Doctoral of Music Arts (2011- Present)
Graduate Diploma, (2010)
Master of Music, (2008)
Bachelor of Music, 2006
Yonsei University, Korea
Bachelor of Music, 2002
Seoul Art High School, Korea, (2001)
Yewon Art School, Korea, (1998)
Korea National University of Art, Prepatory School, Korea, (1997)
Final 2013 : Sangyoung Kim
Semi-final 2013: Sangyoung Kim - recital
Semi-final 2013: Sangyoung Kim - concerto
Final (31/05/2013)
Franz Schubert Sonata in A major op. 120 D 664
Michel Petrossian In the Wake of Ea
Sergey Prokofiev Concerto n. 2 in G minor op. 16
Sangyoung Kim, piano
National Orchestra of Belgium, dir. Marin Alsop

Récital (17/05/2013)

Frederic Rzewski Dream
Aleksandr Skryabin Sonata n. 5 op. 53
Ludwig van Beethoven Eroica Variations in E flat major op. 35
Sangyoung Kim, piano

Concerto (14/05/2013)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Concerto n. 23 in A major KV 488
Sangyoung Kim, piano
Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie, dir. Michael Hofstetter
First round (10/05/2013)
Johann Sebastian Bach Prelude and Fugue n. 23 in B major BWV 892
Joseph Haydn Moderato (Sonata in C minor Hob. XVI:20)
Fryderyk Chopin Etude in G sharp minor op. 25/6
Claude Debussy Etude pour les degrés chromatiques
Alfred Grünfeld Soirée de Vienne, Konzertparaphrase über Johann Strauss'sche Walzermotive aus Fledermaus op. 56
Sangyoung Kim, piano
Relive the performances of Violin 2024
H.M. Queen Mathilde
Follow us on Instagram
This site uses cookies to provide you with the best experience possible.
By clicking on « ACCEPT » or continuing to browse the site, you accept the use of cookies on your web browser. For more information about our cookie policy and the different types of cookies used, click on Learn more