Jakob Katznelson
piano | Russian Federation, °1976
PIANO 1999 : Laureate
Born in 1976 in Moscow, Jacob Katznelson started his music studies at the age of six. In 1993 he entered Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory to study with Eliso Virsaladze, of whom he is an assistant at the Moscow Conservatory since 2001. He also teaches at the Special Gnessin music school affiliated to the conservatory since 1998.

He has performed as a soloist across Russia as well as in Austria, Germany, Spain and France. As a member of the Akadem-trio (Jacob Katsnelson (piano), Irina Petukhova (violin), Boris Lifanovsky (cello)) he has performed in Russia and abroad. In 1999 the trio won the First and six special prizes at the Second Open National Taneyev chamber music competition. In 2000 it won 2nd prize at the XXI Trapani (Italy) International chamber music competition.

Jacob Katznelson is a laureate of the 2nd International piano competition in Tbilisi (Georgia) and the 1st International Svyatoslav Richter competition in Moscow (2005).
Final (24/05/1999)
Uljas Voitto Pulkkis Tears of Ludovico
Franz Schubert Sonata in A major op. 120 D 664
Fryderyk Chopin Concerto n. 1 in E minor op. 11
Jakob Katznelson, piano
National Orchestra of Belgium, dir. Marc Soustrot
Semi-final (10/05/1999)
Carl Czerny "Variations on ""Sehnsuchtswalzer""" op. 12
Boudewijn Cox Prelude
Maurice Ravel Le tombeau de Couperin
Ludwig van Beethoven Sonata n. 11 in B flat major op. 22
Sergey Prokofiev Sonata n. 6 in A major op. 82
Jakob Katznelson, piano
Piano 2020 postponed to May 2021
How the competition unfolds
H.M. Queen Mathilde
This site uses cookies to provide you with the best experience possible.
By clicking on « ACCEPT » or continuing to browse the site, you accept the use of cookies on your web browser. For more information about our cookie policy and the different types of cookies used, click on Learn more