Søren Nils Eichberg
composer | Denmark, °1973
COMPOSITION 2001 : First Prize
Søren Nils Eichberg has recently been appointed the first composer-in-residence in the history of the Danish National Orchestra. For three years (2010-2013) he will thus put his mark on one of the leading orchestras in Scandinavia.

Søren Nils Eichberg was born in 1973 in Stuttgart, Germany, grew up in Denmark and today lives and works in Berlin. He studied piano and orchestra conducting in Copenhagen and Cologne, but his break-through came as a composer when winning the Queen Elisabeth Competition in 2001. Since then, he has risen to become one of the most distinctive composers of his generation. His works have been performed in most European countries as well as in Japan, China, Korea, Australia and the US and have been radio broadcast in the US and europewide.

Eichberg has been commissioned works by Ensemble Modern, Hilary Hahn, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Radio Symphony Orchestra Saarbrücken, the Opera House of Münster and the Theatre of Stendal, Odense Symphony Orchestra, Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie, the International Festival in Bergen in Norway, the International Piano Competition Ferruccio Busoni, the International ARD Music Competition and the Japanese Viva Hall Cello Competition.

His output since 2001 includes more than 30 works, among others two symphonies; cello-, double cello-, piano- and violin concertos; an opera as well as solo-, chamber- and ensemble music.

His prizes and awards include the Composition Fellowship of the Tanglewood Music Festival, the 3-year Composition Grant of the Danish Ministry of Culture, the Composition Stipend of the German Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation, the Civitella Ranieri Fellowship (Italy / New York) and the Composition Prize of the Onassis Public Benefit Foundation.

Søren Nils Eichberg’s works are published by Edition Wilhelm Hansen (Music Sales) and Universal Edition Wien.

As a conductor he has worked with the Südwestfälische Philharmonie, Junge Münchner Philharmonie, Danish Radio Symphony, Ensemble Kaleidoskop Berlin, Österreichisches Ensemble für Neue Musik and soloists from the Munich and Berlin Philharmonic.
Relive the performances of Piano 2021
Follow us on Instagram
This site uses cookies to provide you with the best experience possible.
By clicking on « ACCEPT » or continuing to browse the site, you accept the use of cookies on your web browser. For more information about our cookie policy and the different types of cookies used, click on Learn more