Suite hivernale

Instead of the traditional Christmas concert, the Belgian National Orchestra presents a special Christmas project, fit for this unprecedented end-of-year period.

Five musicians from the orchestra joined forces with pianist Eliane Rodrigues, laureate of the Queen Elisabeth Competition. Together they bring to life an adaptation of the fairy-tale music of Ma mère l'Oye by Maurice Ravel in an enchanting animation film, illustrated by Grégoire Pont. His illustrations are projected on a screen as well as on the musicians themselves.

Ravel wrote this sparkling piece especially for two young children. He drew his inspiration from the book by Charles Perrault, a French fairy tale writer. Sleeping Beauty, Little Thumb, The Empress of the Pagodas, Beauty and the Beast and the Fairytale Garden are gathered in this Winter Suite.

A musical movie to discover, not only for children, until 13 February 2021 on the website of the Belgian National Orchestra.

Photo Eliane Rodrigues (c) Veerle Vercauteren

Piano 2020 postponed to May 2021
How the competition unfolds
H.M. Queen Mathilde
This site uses cookies to provide you with the best experience possible.
By clicking on « ACCEPT » or continuing to browse the site, you accept the use of cookies on your web browser. For more information about our cookie policy and the different types of cookies used, click on Learn more